The 2020-2021 Season has been reimagined for at least the first part of the Season.  Following safety guidelines from public health officials, concerts will be performed without an audience in the concert hall.  Using a subset of the SPSO, musicians will be appropriately socially distant and all safety measures in place in accordance with recent studies on orchestral performances for musicians.  These one-hour concerts are streamed right into your home – LIVE – on YouTube at no charge.  Join us for an innovative way to experience our music-making!  If ever there was a time for music, it is now.

CONCERT I: Music for a Quiet City

Saturday, 10 October 2020, 7:30 p.m.
SPSO LIVEstream!

Allan R. Scott - Conductor

COPLAND       A Quiet City
BARBER         Adagio for Strings
COPLAND       Appalachian Spring: Suite

The Southeastern Pennsylvania Symphony Orchestra returns with music that allows us to heal, remember, reflect, and hope.  Copland’s Quiet City depicts the stillness of our streets, and Barber’s emotional Adagio for Strings captures our heartbreaks and sorrows as we remember those suffering or who have been lost during the pandemic.  The performance leaves us with the true American spirit of possibilities and a better tomorrow through the enduring and popular Appalachian Spring.


CONCERT II: Dreams & Passion

Saturday, 7 November 2020
SPSO LIVEstream!

Allan R. Scott - Conductor
Robyn Bollinger - Violin

DEBUSSY       La Plus Que Lente
DEBUSSY       Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
PIAZZOLLA    Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Escape into your dreams as the SPSO musically paints the surreal sounds of the music of French Impressionist Claude Debussy.   Critically acclaimed Violinist Robyn Bollinger makes her SPSO debut featuring the sultry sounds of tango master Astor Piazzolla’s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires.   Discover your inner passion and get your tango on!  We all need a little time to dream, escape, and indulge.

Innovate Not Replicate

While nothing can replace the experience of attending a live performance, we feel that the live stream offers an exciting and new way to enjoy a concert.  Each stream will be a multi-camera presentation and the camera crew will be able to operate within the Orchestra, offering close-up shots of musicians, front-side views of Maestro Scott, and visuals that are not possible by sitting in the auditorium.  We will also have a pre-concert host, and short backstage interviews prior to walking onstage or at intermission.  We are excited to present the Southeastern Pennsylvania Symphony Orchestra in a more personal, up-close manner.


These live streams can be viewed on a smart phone, tablet, laptop and desktop computers, smart televisions, and televisions connected to the internet – or anywhere you have access to YouTube.  Most televisions offer YouTube as an app or can be attached to another computing device to watch on the big screen.

SPSO LIVEstream will be available on YouTube, the Southeastern Pennsylvania Symphony Orchestra’s website, and the Symphony’s Facebook page.  There will be an option available online to make a donation to the Southeastern Pennsylvania Symphony Orchestra.

Details about Season 49 – Part II will be announced at a later date.


  • Margaret Gaillard,

    I thoroughly enjoyed the October concert and watching my former professor play the stunning piano part.
    Thank you for all presentations!

  • Margaret Gaillard,

    I enjoyed the October concert watching my former professor play the stunning piano part.
    Thank you for your performances of stellar quality.

  • Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    CONCERT I: Triumph Over Struggle
    CONCERT II: Dreams & Passion